FINAL SAY: Britney Jean

britney-spears-britney-jean-510Britney Spears is live streaming her new album Britney Jean before the release next week. We took a listen and are voicing our opinions in this final say.

Jonathan: I went into listening to Britney Jean very skeptical. It’s no surprise that I haven’t been a fan of Britney’s lately. Terrance and Amber even say I’m a hater. Imagine my surprise that when listening to the opening track ‘Alien’, I was actually digging it. Could this be? Am I changing by ways and actually going to like Britney Jean? Track two and three are the already released ‘Work Bitch’ and ‘Perfume’, both of which are OK and I must admit, have grown on me. After those three tracks the album takes a real nose dive. The only other song that I would consider listenable is ‘Passenger’. It’s nice to see Britney slow it up and actual deliver lines that listeners can sing along with. That’s the problem with Britney Jean. The album is so over produced and autotuned to death that I couldn’t even recognize her voice or even sometimes understand what she was saying. Britney Jean is clearly made for the dance floor, which I don’t think will translate into chart topping sales or radio friendly hits. My Grade? ‘C’     AND I’M DONE

Amber: Britney Spears’ much-anticipated eighth studio album Britney Jean is now streaming on iTunes. Advertised as the pop icon’s most personal album yet, the Will.i.am-produced first single Work Bitch, Sia written ballad Perfume as well as the always lovely leaked tracks Alien, Passenger (my pick as the album’s best song) and Brightest Morning Star are definitely my favorites on the album. That material isn’t particularly raw or intimate but does the rest of the album follow through on the promise of close to Brit Brit’s heart? Well, there’s nothing personal about club bangers “It Should Be Easy”, “Til It’s Gone” and “Tik Tik Boom”. But it’s not all drop it like it’s hot either.  “Body Ache” is a future dance club hit and Brit’s cheesy duet with sister Jamie Lynn Spears is going nowhere. I mean come on. We all know little sis has an album coming out but this isn’t going to help her girl. I give Britney Jean a B-  AND I’M DONE.