RUNDOWN: Black Sails Series Premiere

blacksailsAfter starting to watch the new Starz series Black Sails two times I resolved to shutting my computer and laying down my phone to give the premiere my full attention. It wasn’t that I wasn’t interested the first few times, I just wasn’t in the right mindset to devote my attention to a new story line where attention to detail is needed. So what’s the verdict after watching the episode the entire way through? I liked it. I actually liked it quite a bit.

In thinking about popular TV shows that are on today it would seem that we have all the the bases covered. Vampires, Werewolves and Witches oh my. Whats missing though? Pirates. It actually makes a lot of sense if you think about it. I’m sure filming at sea is expensive (or at least, to make it look like it’s filmed at sea). And pirates are often portrayed in a flattering manner (see Johnny Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow) which has a very ‘been there, done that’ feel to it. For all these reasons I’m assuming the topic hasn’t been conquered with much success. I think though that Black Sails comes very close to breaking that trend.

We’re set in 1715 when pirates have “waged a war against the world”. Our “hero” is Captain Flint and he is on a conquest to find a ship with the largest loot in history – $5 million. The waterways wont be easy though. He’s got a crew on the edge of mutiny and a page missing from his master plan (literally). The premiere does a nice job of setting up the season, introducing us to the cast, and giving us a flavor for what type of show we’re in for (yes, there is gore…).

The acting for the show is top notch. Toby Stephens as Flint leads the show with ease. He shows grit and determination. Even though he technically is a “bad guy”, he’s the one we’re rooting for. John Silver (Luke Arnold) plays the current fly in the ointment, but something tells me he could meet an untimely death. The production of the show is also done very well. If it’s not shot on location, you sure wouldn’t know. The water is clear, the beaches are beautiful, and the ships are pretty magnificent. It’s nice to not have to settle for some really bad CGI on a TV program (hint hint Once Upon A Time).

The one thing that stood to me as….odd, was the role of women in the premiere. It might just be me, I found the place of power that Black Beard and Eleanor Guthrie are in unrealistic. I’m not basing this off of any fact, but something tells me that in the 1700’s pirates didn’t have much respect for women. Yes these two are strong and demand respect but this just seemed like a cheap trick done by the network to be different. Maybe I’m just being cynical, but that’s my take.

With all that being said, I’ll definitely be tuning in next week. Starz has already renewed the show for a second season, so I’m assuming it’s only going to get better!