OSCAR WATCH: Review – The Wolf of Wall Street

THE WOLF OF WALL STREETLet me tell you – The Wolf of Wall Street was a lot to take in. There’s so much over-the-top mess happening in this movie – everything from the money, drugs, alcohol and sex was dripping in excess. Now, I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy the movie because I definitely did. It’s just – A LOT.  Continue reading

RUNDOWN: Black Sails Series Premiere

blacksailsAfter starting to watch the new Starz series Black Sails two times I resolved to shutting my computer and laying down my phone to give the premiere my full attention. It wasn’t that I wasn’t interested the first few times, I just wasn’t in the right mindset to devote my attention to a new story line where attention to detail is needed. So what’s the verdict after watching the episode the entire way through? I liked it. I actually liked it quite a bit. Continue reading

OSCAR WATCH: DGA Winners Announced!

dgaawardsIn an awards race that is crazier than my dysfunctional family at the dinner table, we are FINALLY starting to see some clarity. Last night at the Directors Guild Of America awards ceremony Alfonso Cuarón was named Best Director for a Feature Film. This certainly cements his status as the front runner for Best Director at the Oscars. He hasn’t lost any of the big awards yet. If he doesn’t win the Oscar riots would break out in the streets. But what does his win mean for the Best Picture Oscar….? Continue reading